Cops Murder and Bully my Black Neighbor 

I am the most unbiased person to discuss the situation of the recent shootings. I’m the daughter of a retired cop. My father was shot in the line of duty, putting his life on the line to save others. He was shot by a black man. I was not raised to hate blacks. My mom did not tell me “a black man shot your father”. She told me a MAN shot my father. The only reason why i knew he was black was because of his picture I saw in the paper when I was a kid. Still, I didn’t think about his skin color at all. It just wasn’t how I was raised. 

Today cops see everything and everyone as a threat. That is not the police I remember as a child. The police are suppose to protect and serve. They’re SUPPOSED to put their lives on the line to protect US. That is IN their job description. My father almost died doing his job, protecting the public. He saved lives that day. He use to tell me funny stories of high speed pursuits he had with a teenager. He never pulled his gun when the kid finally pulled over. In fact, the kid pulled over in front of his own house and ran out to the house screaming “help! Mom the cops are after me!” My dad said he laughed hysterically in his cruiser. He rarely reached for his gun. That was a LAST resort. The way cops are today would disgust my father. My dad earned a medal of valor. He earned it because he did his job of protect and serve. Yes, it was traumatic going through all this because my father ended up being permanently brain damaged and could never work as a police officer ever again. We’ve almost lost him to seizures many times over the years. However, we have no regrets. We are proud of him. He loved being a cop and he did what he did because he believed in justice and protecting the citizens who looked to him for safety and security. Growing up, seeing a cop car was like a sigh of relief. I felt safe. 

Now I’m terrified of them and it makes me sick to my stomach. My dad was a real cop. A real hero with a medal of valor to prove it. These cops today are not cops. They’re mentally unstable criminals who should not own a gun. 

Please don’t misunderstand me. This is not in reference to the good cops out there (like the ones in Dallas). This is reference to all the cops we’ve seen bully and murder black Americans. 

Enough is enough. It’s time to protest and shout. It’s time to sign petitions and make demands that they change how they train our police. It’s time for them to protect and serve us again, not murder us out of irrational anxious fear. 

Leave a comment